In our continued effort to support families of young children, we are enhancing programming at our Buchanan Parent Child Drop In Centre. We are excited to work together with community partners to enrich children’s learning and development. Please join us for some of the unique opportunities listed below.

Parent Child Drop In

Thursday afternoons 1:30 – 3:00 PM
Friday mornings 9:30 – 11:00 AM

Musical Instruments Make & Take

Join us for a fun afternoon of crafting and music making! Everyone will make maracas and then we will shake the afternoon away to our favourite songs.

Tuesday March 12
1:30 – 2:30 PM

Enhancing Story Time

Participants will get to make & take a variety of hands-on tools to add spice to your story time and enhance your child’s literacy skills.

Tuesday March 19
9:30 – 11:00 AM

Free Family Yoga

Yoga classes are a great way to connect and bond together as a family. Classes are playful, creative and inclusive for all ages. Together we will practise breathing techniques, silly age appropriate yoga poses, play fun and challenging yoga games and experience creative visualization through storytelling. We will also develop skills for self-calming and stress relief while cultivating mindfulness, self-esteem and body awareness.

Class size is limited, registration required for each session:
familyresource@sjsd.net.

(Doors open 15 min prior to the start of each session)

Tuesday March 5 9:45 – 10:15 AM
Wednesday March 20 1:30 – 2:00 PM

Tuesday April 9 9:45 – 10:15 AM
Wednesday April 24 1:30 – 2:00 PM

Tuesday May 7 9:45 – 10:15 AM
Wednesday May 22. 1:30 – 2:00 PM

Stay & Play

Looking to get out and play? Would you like to get to know other families in the community? Drop by the Centre for an informal and relaxed playtime!

Tuesdays are always 9:30 – 11:00 AM and Wednesdays are always 1:30 – 3:00 PM

Tuesday March 12
Wednesday March 13

Tuesday April 2
Wednesday April 3
Tuesday April 16
Wednesday April 17

Tuesday April 30
Wednesday May 1
Tuesday May 14
Wednesday May 15
Tuesday May 21
Tuesday May 28
Wednesday May 29

Family Clothing Exchange – April 9, 1:00 – 3:00 PM

Bring along your much loved but outgrown clothing items and exchange them for different ones! Please bring items in clean and gently used condition. Please note, we do not have storage space so any unclaimed items must be removed at the end of the session.

Toy and Book Exchange – May 14, 9:30 – 11:30 AM

Looking for some different toys or books for your child? A toy exchange is a great chance for you to switch toys or books your child no longer needs or plays with and exchange them for others… for free.